Skip to main content

Buddies

Overview#

There are two types of Buddies, Assistant and Smart, that could execute your automation. Buddies always run in the context of specific user identity. Hence, the access to the resources inside Control Room depends upon the access provided to the associated user identity. A user gets required access to perform certain operations through one or multiple roles. For more information, refer to: Automation Roles.

Permissions#

You need to have appropriate permissions on Buddies entities for performing various operations.

PermissionDescription
ViewView all registered, Assistant and Smart, buddies
EditView and modify buddy details
CreateCreate or enlist new buddy
DeleteDelete a buddy

Assistant Buddies#

Assistant buddies impersonate real users, and they run under real user context. You can manage your Organization's assistant buddies from the Buddies > Assistant page.

Registering Assistant Buddy#

Assistant Buddy gets registered into Control Room automatically on its first connection to Control Room. Assistant Buddies are node-locked, and the machine key sent during the registration process will bind the Assistant Buddy to a specific user and the machine associated with that user.

Note: The user should have the Assistant Buddy application license for successful registration of a buddy. For more information on how to assign license to the user, please refer: Assigning Licences

Deleting an Assistant Buddy#

On Buddies > Assistant page, click on Context-Menu > Delete to delete an assistant buddy.

Note: Deletion of an Assistant Buddy will release its license to the pool so that you can assign it to another user

Smart Buddies#

Smart buddies typically run under the virtual user's context. Virtual users are special user accounts dedicated to specific applications or Smart Stations.

You can manage your Organization's smart buddies from the Buddies > Smart page.

Registering Smart Buddy#

You can add or register a new Smart Buddy from Buddies > Smart page:

  • Click on Grid-Menu > Add button

  • Select the automation user to be associated with this buddy

    Note: For more information on how to create automation user, please refer: Adding Users Note: For more information on how to assign license to the user, please refer: Assigning Licences

  • Type in a name to this buddy

  • Assign a Smart Station to this buddy through Station Name field

  • Type in Domain Name to be used by this buddy to login into the smart station

  • Type in Domain User to be used by this buddy to login into the smart station

  • Type in Domain Password to be used by this buddy to login into the smart station

    Note: Please refer to Setting User Credential for more information.

  • Provide a short description for this buddy inside the Description field

  • Click on the Add button

Setting User Credentials for Smart Buddy#

Smart Buddy is associated with a specific user. This user might be domain user or a local computer user. Smart Buddy utilizes the user session to run the automation. Hence, it is mandatory to provide the domain name and user name for our Smart Buddy to recognize the user session under which it has to run.

Password#

Smart Buddy will utilize the password only in case the specified user session is currently not available. In this case, Smart Buddy will login with the specified domain credentials and run the automation.

If password is not specified, Smart Buddy will be able to run the automation only if the user session is already available.

Standalone Computer User#

In case of local computer user, you can get the domain name and the user name by following the steps below:

  1. Run Windows Powershell application in Administrator mode
  2. On the command prompt type-in the following command and press \<Enter> key:

    Get-Process -Name Explorer -IncludeUserName

  1. Under UserName column, copy the text before \ to domain name field of Smart Buddy
  2. Under UserName column, copy the text after \ to user name field of Smart Buddy

Disabling a Smart Buddy#

Disabling a smart buddy will disable all the schedules or triggers associated with this buddy and will disable job executions by this buddy. You can disable a smart buddy by following the steps below:

  • On Smart Buddies page, select and click on Context-Menu > Disable option
  • Confirm your operation by clicking on the Yes button

    Note: You can enable back a smart buddy by selecting the buddy and clicking on Context-Menu > Enable option

Deleting a Smart Buddy#

On Buddies > Smart page, click on Context-Menu > Delete to delete a smart buddy.

Note: Deletion of a Smart Buddy will release its license to the pool so that you can assign it to another user