Skip to main content

Users

Overview#

A user entity defines the automation users with appropriate automation roles. You can create Users locally (Basic Authentication) or pulled from an active directory (Windows Authentication).

Note: You can select the Authentication type during deployment of the Control Room. You can modify the Domain set for Windows Authentication from the Settings page.

You can manage Users from the Users page. You can reach this page by selecting Administrator > Users option from the side-panel. The Users page will display all the existing automation users and add or remove them and modify their details.

Default Administrator#

The user-specified during deployment of the Control Room is the Administrator. You cannot change the default administrator.

This default administrator user will be used to login into Control Room after installation and set up the automation users.

Users Entity Permissions#

You need to have appropriate permissions to perform various operations on Users entity.

PermissionDescription
ViewProvides access to display users
EditProvides access to edit user details
CreateProvides access to create users. Note: you need to have View access to Roles to set a role for a new user
Deleteprovides access to delete a user

Adding Users#

You can add a new local user (Basic Authentication) or pull a user from the active directory (Windows Authentication) from the Users page.

  • Click on Grid-Menu > Add User button
  • Type in the user name

    Note: In the case of Windows Authentication, you can search the user by typing in the first three characters of the user name and select the user

  • Fill in the other details of the user

    Note: In the case of Windows Authentication, most user details would be fetched from the active directory and populated

  • Assign one or more roles
  • Click on Add

Editing a User#

You can edit an existing user to change the details or to add or remove roles. You can do this from the Users page

  • Select the user to edit
  • Select Context-Menu > Edit option
  • Edit the details
  • Click on Update

Removing a User#

  • On the Users page, select the user to be removed
  • Select Context-Menu > Delete option
  • Confirm the operation by selecting Yes

    Note: On removing a user, the resources owned by the user are transferred to the Default Administrator

Note: An user cannot remove himself from the Control Room

Disabling a User#

  • On the Users page, select the user to be disabled
  • Select Context-Menu > Disable option
  • Confirm the operation by selecting Yes

    Note: Disabling a user will block the user from accessing Control Room. It will disable the corresponding Triggers and Buddies owned by the user. The associated client licenses are released back to the license pool.

Note: An user cannot disable himself from the Control Room

Note: Disabled user can be enabled back by selecting Context-Menu > Enable option

Managing Application Licenses for a user#

You can manage client licenses for a user from the Users page

  • On Users page, select Context-Menu > Assign Apps option
  • Manage the client licenses either by turning ON, to assign, or OFF, to release the corresponding application licenses to/from the user
  • Click on Apply